Shall We Gather: an Evening of Songs and Arias

I’ve made a poster, which means this recital is really happening!

Shall We Gather: An Evening of Songs and Arias
May 18th, 2014
Sunday, 7 PM
Holyrood Church
179th & Fort Washington
New York City, NY
 
Shall We Gather - Recital Poster 2

Photo by Still in Motion Photography. School of Music*, ASU, 2013.

One of the main purposes of this recital is so to perform my new rep with my evolved technique. There was a period of time when I had my auditioning/performing nerves half under control, but it was as if I hit the reset button on that when my singing started shifting gears. I have been overwhelmingly nervous at the last four auditions I’ve sung, to the point where I could literally feel my heart pounding when I put my hand on my stomach — not a pleasant sensation. I don’t want that to kick in at Musical Merit, so this recital is my opportunity to get the first-time-ever-singing-this-for-someone-other-than-my-teacher-or-Baritone-Boy nerves out of the way.

It’s been about two weeks since I last practiced this rep, so I wanted to do a status check and assess just how much trouble I’d gotten myself into in scheduling this recital. I got home from the Mozart Requiem and pulled out a a few pieces: thankfully my voice still remembered the Bach coloratura and my middle voice had cleared up enough to sing some Copland.

I’ve also been able to vocalize up to sustained high E’s the last few days, which is astounding. Perhaps my chords have treated this period of vocal rest as a vacation and are now relaxed enough to stretch further? I hope this new half-step of stretch sticks around. Other than interrupting myself with coughing, the biggest vocal challenge is now the register shift into the lower end of my head-chest mix. Below an F4, I am struggling to “hook” breath and resonance – it feels very flimsy and hollow, but with the rate at which my voice is returning to  normal, I think I’ll be okay by the weekend.

The program will mainly be the music I’ve prepared for Musical Merit with a few additions to help round things out. I think I managed to find a way to group/organize the selections that makes sense – if you’re in the area and can attend, please come and see for yourself!

PROGRAM
From Copland’s Old American Songs:
At the River
Zion’s Walls
2 Bach arias:
“Phöbus eilt mit schnellen Pferden” from Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten, BWV 202
“Ich will dir mein Herze schenken” from St. Matthew Passion, BWV 244
Three songs:
Green (Debussy)
Breit’ über mein Haupt (Strauss)
At the Well (Hageman)
INTERMISSION
Presentation of the Rose from Der Rosenkavalier (Strauss)
“Silver Aria” from The Ballad of Baby Doe (Moore)
“Zeffiretti lusinghieri” from Idomeneo (Mozart)
“Du gai soleil” from Werther (Massenet)

 

There are few songs to memorize still, some to brush up on, and a new one to learn. I have 6 days… let’s do this!


* The recital will be in New York, but the picture I used for this recital poster was taken at the School of Music at Arizona State University. In the midst of the heat and sand, the courtyard in front of the music building was a shady little oasis. It was one of my favorite places on campus, and I’m glad it was captured in some photos. 

 

5 responses to “Shall We Gather: an Evening of Songs and Arias

  1. Pingback: Reflecting After the Recital | SINGING life

  2. Wish I was there! Break a leg!

  3. Kathleen Masterson

    Joyce,
    Wonderful to meet you and sing the Mozart Requiem next to you. Wishing you much succes and so sorry I won’t be able to get to the Sunday evening concert.
    Buona fortuna!
    Kathleen (soprano to your left)

Leave a note

