In the works update (March 22, 2014)

IN THE WORKS @ March 22, 2014

I am absolutely thrilled to be singing the role of Echo in Ariadne auf Naxos this summer in New York.

  • Conducted by Lloyd Arriola
  • Celebrating Strauss @ 150
  • Our first rehearsal/meeting is next Saturday!
  • Further details TBA

Prepping to do some recording since I don’t have anything recent:

  • Presentation of the rose from Der Rosenkavalier
  • “Da tempeste” from Giulio Cesare

I also made the decision to travel across the country to sing in Musical Merit again. The plane ticket was expensive, and it’s a lot of rep to put together – but I know myself, and I know I would regret not giving it a shot. So without any expectations, instead, with a focus on preparing my music with as much passion as possible and using what I’ve learned in the last 8 months, here I go:

  • “Solitudini amiche … Zeffiretti lusinghieri” from Idomeneo
  • Presentation of the rose from Der Rosenkavalier
  • “Silver Aria” from The Ballad of Baby Doe
  • “Phöbus eilt mit schnellen Pferden” from Cantata 202 (Bach)
  • Green (Debussy)
  • Breit’ über mein Haupt (Strauss)
  • At the Well (Hageman)
  • Zion’s Walls (Copland)

Since I love biting off more than is smart to bite off, I’m also hoping to have other announcements in the next few months. But no matter how things play out, it’s going to be an incredible summer. I know I’ve made some progress out here, and I will keep moving forward, keep getting stronger, and keep stretching that extension. Thank you to everyone who has been cheering me along – my family, Baritone Boy, my teacher, my coach, and my friends. Thank you, thank you!

Leave a note

