New Repertoire, Spring 2012

Sometimes you feel super busy but not productive, and you wonder what you spent all your time doing (certainly wasn’t laundry… or learning a new language).  Making a list helps.  Here’s music I added to my repertoire during Spring semester.

French:

  • Lakmé  in Act 1 of Lakmé(Délibes)
    • Opening sequence: Blanche Durga
    • Flower duet with Mallika: Viens, Mallika, les lianes en fleur … Dôme épais, le jasmin
    • Les fleurs me paraissent plus belle … Pourquoi
    • Duet with Gérald: D’où viens-tu? Que veux-tu?
  • Trois Mélodies (Messiaen)
    • Pourquoi
    • Un sourire
    • La fiancée perdue

Italian:

  • Norina selections from Don Pasquale (Donizetti)
    • So anch’io la virtù magica
    • Tornami a dir
  • Role: Amore – Orfeo ed Euridice (Gluck) – Bärenreiter edition
    • T’assiste Amore … Gli sguardi trattieni
    • Orfeo, che fai?
    • Triomphi Amore
  • other Amore selections from Orfeo ed Euridice (Gluck) – Ricordi edition
    • Amore assisterà … Se il dolce suon
    • Ascolta, ascolta allor, Orfeo … Gli sguardi trattieni

English:

  • My heart leaps up (Miss Wordsworth) – Albert Herring (Britten)
  • Sure on this shining night (Barber)
  • The harp that hangs on Tara’s walls (Pasatieri)
  • Role: Lucy – The Telephone (Menotti)

German:

  • Durch Zärtlichkeit und Schmeicheln (Blondchen) – Entführung aus dem Serail (Mozart)
  • Ich wollt’ ein Sträußlein binden (R. Strauss)
2 responses to “New Repertoire, Spring 2012

  1. Ahhh…so much good music!!! I’m jealous. I looove Sure on this shining night and Durch Zartlichkeit is just fun to watch. Good work! That’s a lot of work!

    • Thanks, Caroline! I was really lucky last semester with rep, and I liked just about everything I had to work on (after getting past the initial “This aria/song is so hard, why did I pick it, I hate singing this!” phase). Sure on this shining night and the Lakme aria make me tear up every time. No matter how many times I practice them, they manage to grip me by the gut and the heart. Durch Zartlichkeit almost didn’t make the list since it was so new – I took it into my last lesson of the semester before finals week took over! Since then I’ve worked on it only about 4 times (concentrating on Musical Merit competition rep instead). It’s coming along, but not quite performance ready yet. It’s those E’s, I tell you!

Leave a note

